Jenny Riddle as Sally Field

Jenny Riddle as Sally Field

SallyFiled_April2.jpg

In her latest dramatic book review, Jenny Riddle brings to life Sally Field based on Field’s fabulous new memoir, In Pieces. Sally’s new book is an intensely personal, vulnerable accounting of her life and career. From Gidget to Norma Rae to Mary Todd Lincoln, Field has stunned audiences time and again with her artistic range. Yet there has been one character who has always remained hidden: the shy and anxious girl within. Join Jenny for this “in character” presentation to find out how Sally Field eventually finds her own voice in this inspiring and unforgettable story.

It’s a riveting story that you won’t want to miss!


$10/person
Call the store to say you can come,
(630) 765-7455!

Learn more about Jenny

 

Divorce: a love story

Divorce: a love story

Readings and discussion with author Kay Eck

Divorce a love storyV7.jpg

Join author Kay Eck for an evening of discussion and readings from her newly published memoir Divorce: a love story.  From the start of the heartbreaking process of uncoupling from her husband of 30 years, Kay questioned everything she’d ever learned about relationships, marriage and divorce. She vowed to create a loving way forward for her family. But first, she would have to wade through an emotional minefield of old wounds, unconscious thinking and societal and religious conditioning. Ultimately, she finds a way to unravel it all, flood it with love and knit it back together again in a new way. The result is a revelatory antidote to the widespread suffering over the fluid nature of relationships.

Kay Eck is an astute observer of what she calls the “devastating and incandescent shared human journey.” With a career path that has traversed the fields of journalism, public relations, motherhood, fine arts, business management and yoga, her lifelong devotion has been to leading a conscious and purpose-filled life and mentoring others along the path of sacred self-love. This is her first publication. 

FREE - Call to say you can come, (630) 765-7455!

A Good Yarn Book Club: The Garden of Small Beginnings by Abbi Waxman

A Good Yarn Book Club: The Garden of Small Beginnings by Abbi Waxman

Prairie Path Books (map)

AGoodYarnLogo.jpg

All are invited to join this book club. We meet in the Gathering Room from 1:30-3:00 the first Sunday of every month, October - April. 

Lilian Girvan has been a single mother for three years—ever since her husband died in a car accident. One mental breakdown and some random suicidal thoughts later, she’s just starting to get the hang of this widow thing. She can now get her two girls to school, show up to work, and watch TV like a pro. The only problem is she’s becoming overwhelmed with being underwhelmed.

Lilian Girvan has been a single mother for three years—ever since her husband died in a car accident. One mental breakdown and some random suicidal thoughts later, she’s just starting to get the hang of this widow thing. She can now get her two girls to school, show up to work, and watch TV like a pro. The only problem is she’s becoming overwhelmed with being underwhelmed.

April 7    
The Garden of Small Beginnings by Abbi Waxman
255 Town Square Mall, Wheaton, IL 60189

 

Free!

The Will of the People:  Readings in American Democracy

The Will of the People: Readings in American Democracy

Will.jpg

When was the last time you read the Declaration of Independence?  In the Hamilton craze, have you perused the Federalist papers?  Did you even know there was a second Declaration in 1848 penned and signed by women?  In this exciting new offering from Prairie Path Books, we will read these original documents and many others and discuss them using the Shared Inquiry model developed by the Great Books Foundation at University of Chicago.  The course will include a trained facilitator, a resource book available through PPB and a new appreciation of our country’s history.  Meetings will be held Wednesday evenings from 6:30 -8:00 and can be attended individually or as an entire 9 month endeavor.

Spring selections will include:  Declaration of Sentiments and Resolutions, 1848; Gettysburg Address; poetry selections and Letter from Birmingham Jail among others. 

Purchase of the book is required to attend, $18. 
Each class is $5, call (630) 765-7455 to say you can come!

 

 

Skinny Books, Fat Content

Skinny Books, Fat Content

BaghdadBook.jpg

This book club will read and discuss fiction books under 200 pages that present some great moral dilemmas, plot twists, memorable characters and ideas that just beg for discussion.  Though they look deceptively short and simple, they will WOW you with the depth of their meaning and the precision of their language.  Even if you are already in a book club, you could squeeze this one in.  Meetings will last just one hour, so discussion will be as intense as the reading. 

In April we will consider The Baghdad Eucharist by Sinan Antoon.

Displaced by the sectarian violence in the city, Maha and her husband are taken in by a distant cousin, Youssef. 

As the growing turmoil around them seeps into their household, a rare argument breaks out between the elderly Youssef and his young guest. Born into sanctions and war, Maha knows nothing of Iraq's good years that Youssef holds dear. 

Set over a single day, The Baghdad Eucharist is an intimate story of love, memory, and anguish in one Christian family.

 

Free!
Call the store to say you can come, (630) 765-7455!

 

 

 

Mangia Italiano!: Queens of the Italian Cookbook

Mangia Italiano!: Queens of the Italian Cookbook

Prairie Path Books (map)

This fall we begin our year-long celebration of the art of Italian cooking!

PPB’s resident Italian chef, Cathy, is an expert at all things cookery but especially her own native cuisine. Sandy learned to cook like an Italian as soon as she learned that her fiancee’s name was Italia Troianello. Together, as part of our series “Mangia Italiano!” we are excited to offer our favorite recipes from the acknowledged masters of Italian cuisine, Marcella Hazan and Lidia Bastianich and their classic, essential cookbooks.

$35/demo + $15 shopping credit included!

Call the store to say you can come, (630) 765-7455. Payment required for RSVP.

italiancooks.jpg
Author Visit: Patty Toht

Author Visit: Patty Toht

Visit Prairie Path Books on Independent Bookstore Day (Saturday, April 27) and join the nationwide celebration of bookstores (really owners who are crazy/happy in their work) that are keeping the ancient art of small book-business alive and thriving. 

A playful and fashionable slumber party takes an empowering turn in this gorgeous picture book, perfect for fans of Princesses Wear Pants and Rosie Revere, Engineer!

In these beautifully illustrated pages, a diverse cast of slumber party participants considers the most time-honored traditions for how to dress. If a lady should wear white in summertime, then how about donning a spacesuit? If team colors are apropos at sporting events, why not wear helmets and play ball?

Join us for this author event/book signing plus snacks and bevs. Free! Call today to say you can come, (630) 765-7455!

Girls w signs.png
Patty.jpg
Dress.jpg

Patty Toht is a local children’s author, poet, middle school library associate, reader, and traveler. She once owned a children’s bookstore before turning her love of children’s books into a love of writing. For most of her life she has lived in the Chicago area, but was lucky to live in England for four years.







Author Visit: Katie McElligott

Author Visit: Katie McElligott

Visit Prairie Path Books on Independent Bookstore Day (Saturday, April 27) and join the nationwide celebration of bookstores (really owners who are crazy/happy in their work) that are keeping the ancient art of small book-business alive and thriving. 

The snuggle is real…

Nothing Is Scary With Harry tells the story about a little girl, her blanket, and the value of comfort to provide strength in childhood and beyond.

Join us for this author event/book signing plus snacks and bevs. Free! Call today to say you can come, (630) 765-7455!

Harry spread.jpg
xk (12).jpg
Harry cover.jpg

Katie McElligott is a first-time author and a full-time Creative Director at a Chicago advertising agency. She lives in Oak Park, Illinois with her husband, two small children (with a third on the way), and a cat named Ramona Quimby. 

Jennifer Bell is an illustrator whose work can be found on greeting cards, in magazines and more than a dozen children’s books. She lives in Minnesota with her husband and cranky cat.






Skinny Books, Fat Content

Skinny Books, Fat Content

Ending.jpg

This book club will read and discuss fiction books under 200 pages that present some great moral dilemmas, plot twists, memorable characters and ideas that just beg for discussion.  Though they look deceptively short and simple, they will WOW you with the depth of their meaning and the precision of their language.  Even if you are already in a book club, you could squeeze this one in.  Meetings will last just one hour, so discussion will be as intense as the reading. 

In May we will consider the Sense of An Ending by Julian Barnes

A novel so compelling that it begs to be read in a single setting, The Sense of an Ending has the psychological and emotional depth and sophistication of Henry James at his best, and is a stunning achievement in Julian Barnes's oeuvre. 
 
This intense novel follows Tony Webster, a middle-aged man, as he contends with a past he never thought much about—until his closest childhood friends return with a vengeance: one of them from the grave, another maddeningly present. Tony thought he left this all behind as he built a life for himself, and his career has provided him with a secure retirement and an amicable relationship with his ex-wife and daughter, who now has a family of her own. But when he is presented with a mysterious legacy, he is forced to revise his estimation of his own nature and place in the world.

 

Free!
Call the store to say you can come, (630) 765-7455!

 

 

 

The Will of the People:  Readings in American Democracy

The Will of the People: Readings in American Democracy

Will.jpg

When was the last time you read the Declaration of Independence?  In the Hamilton craze, have you perused the Federalist papers?  Did you even know there was a second Declaration in 1848 penned and signed by women?  In this exciting new offering from Prairie Path Books, we will read these original documents and many others and discuss them using the Shared Inquiry model developed by the Great Books Foundation at University of Chicago.  The course will include a trained facilitator, a resource book available through PPB and a new appreciation of our country’s history.  Meetings will be held Wednesday evenings from 6:30 -8:00 and can be attended individually or as an entire 9 month endeavor.

Spring selections will include:  Declaration of Sentiments and Resolutions, 1848; Gettysburg Address; poetry selections and Letter from Birmingham Jail among others. 

Purchase of the book is required to attend, $18. 
Each class is $5, call (630) 765-7455 to say you can come!