Cooking Demo: "Mad Hungry Family"

Cooking Demo: "Mad Hungry Family"

“Putting bacon in Ziplocs in the freezer, and poaching eggs in advance and Tupperwaring them in the frig, so all I needed to do was make toast in the morning to have an egg sandwich?  Who thought of that?  Lucinda Scala Quinn.  When I bought her new cookbook Mad Hungry in 2009, it immediately made me think I too could feed my family really well, but in a realistic and do-able way.  And it’s true.  I can and you can and Lucinda shows us how.  Her writing has that get-real quality to it; I feel like she’s sitting right next to me when I read her books.”  — Sandy

Lucinda is the country’s foremost evangelist for family meals every day of the week. And she knows that the only way to make them a reality is by building a repertoire of dishes that are quick and easy to prepare, and guaranteed to please. In Mad Hungry Family, Scala Quinn has collected all the no-fuss, big-flavor recipes that send her family stampeding to the kitchen table—from flat roast chicken (a Koropp family staple and favorite - takes 45 minutes off regular chicken roast time) to second-day spaghetti pancakes.  Her lifetime of home-cooking and professional time as executive chef for Martha Stewart Living, makes her tips, tricks, and solutions true treasures.  Here are survival strategies for:

“There’s nothing-in-the-fridge!” crises•  Feeding unexpected guests•  Getting holiday dinners on the table before crankiness sets in•  and The ingredients and techniques you need, plus permission to ignore those you don’t. 

With soulful, satisfying recipes and real talk about what it takes to make family meals a reality, Mad Hungry Family is the “you-can-do-this” handbook every home cook needs.

$15/person, space is limited. Call to say you can come, (630) 765-7455!

Kids with Kristy: A Gift for Mama

Kids with Kristy: A Gift for Mama

Oskar sets out—with a single coin—to find the perfect gift for his mother. And he spots it at once: a beautiful yellow rose. But when he meets an artist, Oskar trades the rose for a paintbrush. And when he meets a conductor, he trades the paintbrush for a sheet of music. . . 

The bustling streets are full of interesting people and delightful possible presents, and Oskar trades one gift for another, and another, and another! But what he finds by the end of the day is even more precious.

$5/child    Call the store to say you can come, (630) 765-7455!

During these events, children will have a snack, take home a craft, sing a song, play a game—all so that they engage in the story message on many levels.  A parent or guardian needs to stay during the event.

Book Club: Lilac Girls

Book Club: Lilac Girls

For readers of The Nightingale and Sarah’s Key, inspired by the life of a real World War II heroine, this remarkable debut novel reveals the power of unsung women to change history in their quest for love, freedom, and second chances.

“Kelly’s compelling first novel follows three women through the course of World War II and beyond. Caroline, a wealthy New Yorker, volunteers at the French consulate in New York, assisting refugees and raising funds. She meets Paul, a charming, married French actor, and sparks fly. Kasia, a young woman living in Poland during the Nazi invasion, works for the resistance until she is captured and sent to Ravensbruck, the women’s concentration camp. There, she encounters Herta, a doctor hired to help execute inmates and perform experiments. Though her mother is Herta’s trusted assistant, and even saved a camp guard’s life, Kasia is operated on, joining the “Rabbits,” inmates deformed from their surgeries. Meanwhile, Caroline loses touch with Paul when he returns to France to find his wife, and she finds herself tasked with keeping track of the growing concentration camp network for the consulate, learned from British intelligence. After the war, she travels to France to assist in locating missing people, where she learns about the Rabbits, including Kasia, who is struggling to let go of her anger and move on with her life. Despite some horrific scenes, this is a page-turner demonstrating the tests and triumphs civilians faced during war, complemented by Kelly’s vivid depiction of history and excellent characters. Agent: Alexandra Machinist, ICM Partners.”   — Publishers Weekly

This is a free event. Call to say you can come, (630) 765-7455!

All Aboard the London Bus

All Aboard the London Bus

Come Board the London Bus

and see the London sights with us.

At any time, hop off, explore

Then climb back on, and ride some more...

As a family of four spend a day exploring London, fun, child-friendly poems introduce readers to our wonderful capital city, and all its secrets. Well-known landmarks like Buckingham Palace, Big Ben and the London Eye, plus inescapable features like rain and taking tea, all get Patty Toht’s witty treatment. Non-fiction facts provide more information about the subjects, while rising star Sam Usher brings them to life with his signature style and humour. This gorgeous celebration of London will be loved by both tourists and those who call the city home.

This is a free event! Call the store to say you can come, (630) 765-7455!